The seven-member Board of Supervisors is elected by the voters of Bedford County and each represents an election district of approximately 10,500 citizens. The supervisors' election terms are staggered and the board elects its chairman and vice chairman each year at the board's organizational meeting in January.

The Board has overall administrative and legislative responsibilities including the levying of county taxes, appropriating funds, approving and enforcing the county's Comprehensive Plan, which governs land use, making and enforcing ordinances and establishing policies and procedures for the residents of the county.

The Board of Supervisors meet twice monthly. Unless publicly announced otherwise, meetings are generally held on the second and fourth Mondays at 7:30 p.m. in the Board of Supervisors meeting room on the top floor of the County Administration Building, 122 East Main Street, Bedford.

Citizens may request to speak at a Board meeting on a specific topic or ordinance by contacting either their supervisor or the County Administrator's office in advance of the scheduled meeting. 586-7601

Each regular meeting also has a 15-minute comment period to allow citizens input on items on that evening's agenda.

Click here to review the Board of Supervisor's Rules of Procedures for meetings.

Notices of public hearings are published in area newspapers. Citizens are encouraged to speak at the public hearings. Sign-up sheets for speakers are available outside the meeting room before the meeting begins


Board Members

Supervisor for District 1

Bill Thomasson
3915 Thomasson Mill Road
Goodview ,VA 24095

Supervisor for District 2

Curry W. Martin
431 Surrey Drive
Huddleston ,VA 24104

Supervisor for District 3

Steve Wilkerson
2452 Bethel Church Road
Forest ,VA 24551

Supervisor for District 4 Chairman

John Sharp
105 Oakdale Terrace
Forest ,VA 24551

Supervisor for District 5

Steve Arrington
6131 Wheats Valley Road
Bedford ,VA 24523

Supervisor for District 6

Annie Pollard
1611 Ivy Branch Drive
Blue Ridge ,VA 24064

Supervisor for District 7

Tammy F. Parker
1919 Three Otters Road
Bedford ,VA 24523